Customer reviews for the PCTV systems nanoStick 292e DVB-T2 tripleStick HD TV Tuner

PCTV systems nanoStick 292e DVB-T2 tripleStick HD TV Tuner
5.0 11
PCTV systems nanoStick 292e DVB-T2 tripleStick HD TV Tuner
5* Good piece of kit
Reviewed by Chris on 14/01/2011
Had to upgrade the aerial to get a decent signal for this - but it needed doing anyway.

I have 1 x satellite card and 1 x dual tuner (both on PCI). Setting up in Media Center wasn't hard but it's confusing because MC gives a list of all tuners being configured but tells you that the nanostick is not going to be configured. All was good, if you just let it do its thing it'll pick up all the channels including the 4 high def ones.

Good piece of kit.
5* Media Centre
Reviewed by Anonymous on 24/11/2010
In reply to the question about the nanostick T2 working with windows 7 media centre, the answer is yes it does! There is software on the installation disc to integrate the nanostick into media centre. It works fine.
5* Great product
Reviewed by John Edwards on 22/10/2012
This does all it claims - a great product that transforms TV viewing on a computer - especially on a large-screen HD monitor. I suspect that having a highly specified PC (using Win 7 64-bit) and a rooftop aerial helps a lot.

Specifically, the TV Center software (I downloaded the latest 64-bit version (v4.1.0.148) from the web site) works just fine (but you have to allow it plenty of time to scan for channels). Although the resulting channel list appears in random order, you can re-number and resequence them by creating 'new channel list(s)' in the Advanced channel editor.

The EPG is impressive - and allows recording to be scheduled directly from it.

The remote control only works with TV Center, so if you instead choose to use Windows Media Center, you have to get another remote. There's also a new version of the WMC package you can download from the PCTV website.

To get the best out of this sophisticated kit, I recommend a thorough reading of the extensive on-line documentation!
Reviewed by Anonymous on 25/11/2010
SUPERB PRODUCT!!! Being the first HD DVB-T2 tuner I was expecting bugs but its a 100% worker. Fantastic picture quality on HD channels. Im using it with Cyberlink Power Cinema 6 running on Dell M11x-R2 laptop, Windows-7 64bit. For installation insert the CD into the drive and just let Windows find the drivers for it. No need to install all the junk on the CD if you going to use Power Cinema or Media Centre.
5* Excellent piece of kit
Reviewed by Malcolm on 19/12/2010
At last, you can get Freeview HD on your computer. If you have Win7 ignore the driver disc and let windows install its own drivers and Windows Media Centre scan for channels. WMC’s guide does not have HD channel listings, but Google ‘Windows Media Center Guide Data Tool’ to solve this. I already have VideoReDo to edit out unwanted bits of recorded video, and version 4 copes with HD almost as easily as SD. VRD can transcode to different formats, but this takes a long time (a 3Ghz quad core takes 3.5 mins/minute of HD video), so just resave as wtv. As with most other USB TV sticks, they do get quite hot in use, so ensure they have a good air flow around them. All in all, I am very happy with this product.
5* HD works perfectly with Intel Atom D525 + Next Gen NVidia ION (GT218-ION)
Reviewed by RG on 31/12/2010
Bought this to get Freeview HD on my Asus EEE 1501p nettop (Win7-64). Being an Atom based PC, I wasn't sure if it would work, but using the standard windows drivers and windows media centre, the HD channels work perfectly!

Great device!
5* PCTV Nano stick 290e
Reviewed by Ian on 29/03/2011
This provides a great picture and sound. I use windows 7 and use this through media center. It does takes an age to scan for channels (about 30mins) but when it is done it is worth it. One tip use guidetool to enter the HD channel informatin to the WMC guide as the HD channels do not get a EPG listing for programmes in WMC, this is not a fault of the USB stack but WMC itself.
Good price too at the moment £54.
Well reccomended easy to use.
4* Good receiver hardware But....
Reviewed by Anonymous on 06/12/2010
The USB stick hardware and drivers are perfect. I can view and record SD and HD tv using windows media centre on my 64bit Windows 7 PC.

However, I would prefer to record TV using the supplied TVCentre software that comes with the hardware to watch/record. Unfortunately, I have found that the TVCentre software is completely unusable on my 64bit windows 7 PC. The software crashes or freezes randomly (but always after a little use) when I watch HD channels.
I would have returned the product as unusable due to the supplied software issues and lack of contact back from support were it not for the fact that it works perfectly without any issues at all using windows media centre.
4* Surround Sound
Reviewed by Anonymous on 10/12/2010
Works fine in Win 7 medea centre. Recordings made in medea centre (WTV) will only play within it, you cannot reliably convert to other formats. EPG workarounds for HD channels are widely published.
Works in MediaPortal if you use the DivX AAC Decoder for audio AAC. Produces open standard .ts files. These will play with VLC but even minor glitches in the recording will corrupt the sound badly. Still looking for a reliable surround sound solution.
Supplied software (beside driver) is unreliable.
4* @Anonymous
Reviewed by HB on 25/11/2010
I have one; I get no audio when playing Freeview HD recordings using Windows Media Player or VLC. This is on Windows 7. I don't have Windows Media Centre installed. I guess this is due to a need for an HE-AAC codec?

SD recordings play without problems.
Scroll to top