Click to visit BT.com
BT.com
Wishlist

Customer reviews for the NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router

Write a review for the NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router here!

NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router
5.0 43
£47.59
NETGEAR DG834 BT ADSL Firewall Modem/Router
very good!!!
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 08/10/2004

spot on - out the box and up and running in 10mins - no problem with ftp, and tested with a security website - it had stealthed every port - would recomend!!!

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
No doubts
Reviewed by John T. Review Posted 18/09/2004

I read the reviews before I bought, and thought the balance of probability was that it was a good product. Installed easily. Worked first time. FTP works fine. Excellent product. I have no doubts I made the right choice.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent product
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 21/04/2005

The spec and reviews for this product suggested it was the right adsl modem/router/network switch for what I wanted to do (3pcs sharing internet and files, with one on XPpro, 2 on W2K pro). It arrived next day, was working straight out of box in 5 mins. Setup couldn't have been easier, detecting the ISP settings, giving me the LAN IP address to use in the PC firewalls. Rock steady since first switching on. FTP no problem (without any change to settings). Does exactly what it is supposed to do.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
DG834 with AOL
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 15/04/2004

What is everyone on about FTP problems for? All you have to do is download and install the latest firmware 1.04.01 and set the correct MTU for your ISP. Which for AOL is 1400. You also need to set the MTU on all systems using the router with a program called DRTCP021. The fiewall gets full stealth on GRC shields up test - there are no ports unstealthed whatsoever. It is extremely simple to setup at the same time having a very sophisticated firewall.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Very good
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 28/01/2005

All working within 20 minutes - partly my fault as I forgot the full user name for my freeserve broadband connection. Second PC connected in one minute. Can't get much better than that! Yet to work out all firewall features...
Good product and I would recommend it.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
DG834UK
Reviewed by Simon. Review Posted 25/10/2005

Having previously had dial up, broadband is something
new to me.
So many routers/modems to choose from makes
it a difficult decision.
Bought DG834UK after seeing it recommended
by my new broadband ISP 'Metronet'.
Plugged in the cables, loaded the cd and all was done
in under 30 minutes.
Brilliant piece of kit for someone like me with little technical knowledge of PC's.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Awesome
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 16/02/2006

Just got this and all i can say is in the title: Awesome ..

So easy to setup and use.. deffinatly will reccomend this to everyone else :)

5/5

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Excellent
Reviewed by Martin. Review Posted 14/04/2006

not being a coputer wizkid and needing a decent router for when my broadband is upgraded i read these reviews and decided to go for it.

installing and setting up this item was so fast and easy it was untrue. it found all my connections and set them up for me. Only thing i did wrong was when it asked for my login name i was ading the ADMIN/PASSWORD prompt it asks you to add at the begining of the setup. so a quick call to NETGEAR and within 2 mins they had me sorted. very helpful and friendly. First thing i then did was upgrade the firmware from the Netgear website which installed within 5 mins.

i have found this item so fast and stable to use compared to my previous USB Modem.

A quick security check has found the firewall to be working excellently.

would definitely recomed

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
All-Round Modem/Router Goodness!
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 27/07/2006

It looks a bit like an expensive ladies purse, but if you can see past that (or like it) you will find a truly excellent marriage of first rate security technology with an ease of use that makes all that complex tech seem simple.

Took me next to no time to set-up and when I was done, I found that all my ports were "stealthed", making my PC appear not to exist on the internet, meaning that it would be virtually impossible for a hacker to compromise my network.

If you're in the market for a good quality ADSL/DSL modem router, the Netgear DG843 is the way-to-go for excellent tech, ease of use and excellent value.

  • Overall 5*
  • Ease of use 5*
  • Value for money 5*
 
Xbox Live NAT Status
Reviewed by Anonymous Review Posted 13/07/2007

I bought this because I had terrible trouble with my previous router trying to get my NAT status from "strict" to "open" on xbox live. This router gave me an "open" status straight out of the box.
I was also impressed with how quick and easy I found it to set up.

  • Overall 4*
  • Ease of use 4*
  • Value for money 4*